Merital Family ft Vybz Kartel, “My Money (HA HA)”

2 Oct

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Sorry for being a little AWOL this last week but I’m back on the keys again for now. Last week I had a few friends visit from New York and we traveled along the northeastern part of Jamaica where we got the opportunity to stay with some friends who own a villa in Portland, a beach community that was host to the film “Blue Lagoon.” After spending about six hours trying to pick up a “cheaper” rental car in Portmore, I quickly learned the ropes to driving on the other side of the road and we headed out bumping the radio at full blast to IRIE IRIE IRIE FM and navigating our way through the small townships of northeastern Jamaica.

Leading up to my trip, I’d heard Merital’s “My Money (HA HA)” on heavy rotation at both Fiction and on the radio but the trip north really excelled my affection for it to the point that we may or may not have blown the left speakers on that janky rental. It wasn’t until I got back to Kingston and read Eddie “Stats” Houghton’s Ghetto Palms column on theFADER.com that I realized that Merital’s jam was part of the GO GO riddim. Eddie is an amazing dude because regardless of his proximity to Jamaica, he’s always up on his game and he brings a seasoned view of Dancehall to the table in addition to harvesting his own blends. He did his own blend of the GO GO Riddim here that brings a little extra Busy Signal and Konshens to the table.

Leave a Reply

