Kingston, Mavado, “Fall Rain Fall”

10 Nov

It’s been a proper Kingston weekend, which usually means I drank an aquarium size amount of Wray & Nephew’s, held on really tight to my seat belt, danced to some loud ass music and passed out at 5am. That happened of course, and God willing I made my way out of that car safe thanks to one friend who finally listened to my pleas of “SLOW THE FUCK DOWN”. This weekend packed a little extra punch of pool parties, strip clubs, sound systems in the street and Rasta’s named Johnny, which was mostly all new to me. Well, with exception to the strip club, that’s a pretty normal weekend thing. But a girl gettin “daggered” in a hot tub? Yep, that was a first for me.

It’s nice to be back to the keys though and since the weekend carried a lot of good new sounds to my ear– I’m still trying to decipher all of them– I thought I’d post Mavado’s track from the Survivor riddim as it was on heavy rotation from the car to the club to the blaring speakers of a tiny bar in Stoney Hill.

Also big ups to FaderFam/editor Julianne Escobedo Shepherd for the blog love. Read her post on Rubi Dan of The Heatwave here

Leave a Reply

