Konshens, “Survivor”

26 Mar

You may have thought I was sleeping on dancehall this week, but really I’ve been quietly observing its anxious shuffle from the passenger seat. This week in dancehall we saw a shift in economics with the launch of 2010’s biggest riddims onto Itunes and Amazon. Twitter was all a buzz with hope and excitement from the industry mavens and fans were giving play by plays of every new track they purchased (and probably already owned through freeload.)

I also spent a pretty penny in US dollars on tracks I already had – including the Jafrican riddim, one of my favorite’s for the year– and also stuck to my word and purchased Daseca’s Genesis riddim which snow-balled the onslaught of riddim purchase with its global radio marketing scheme– since then I haven’t stopped listening to Serani’s “When I’m Around You” from Genesis and on his new mixtape, Future II. It also appeared as online purchases picked up speed, freeloads slowed to a halt and promoters where finally starting to lasso in media hoarders. But a select few media giants are dropping a spare amount of goodies for freeload, just enough to feed our salacious appetites.

One track coming from Johnny Wonder’s realm is a Konshens’ “Survivor.” Last Sunday I saw Konshens at Hillshire in Portmore and later tweeted that the man CAN sing, which came out in my broken americanized version of patois as caann (aka can’t). Point being, I intended to emphasize that while many artistes lose their clarity and confidence singing live because they don’t have that warm snuggly to envelop them– also known as Autotune– that’s not the case for Konshens. Something you can see in his new “Survivor” track.

Get it here: “Survivor” MP3

Leave a Reply

